What's in this guide
The information below was checked on 27/09/2026 against the providers’ pages linked at the end. Visa, work‑permit and salary rules change by country; request written terms and check employer/visa conditions independently.
Comparison table
International TEFL Academy (ITA)
EBC TEFL
myTEFL
ICAL TEFL
IQ TEFL
CIEE (contextual)
What “job placement” usually means
Providers use varied wording. The wording matters. The most common phrases observed are:
- “lifetime job search guidance” — typically describes CV help, job listings and alumni network resources.
- “job placement assistance” or “job search support” — often refers to resources such as job boards, CV templates and partner contacts.
- “Guaranteed Job Placement Programs” — used by some marketing pages to describe paid, country‑specific programs. Details and contract terms are not displayed on the marketing page.
- “supported pathways into paid teaching roles / internships” — phrasing used to describe internship or practicum options that may help transition into paid work.
Red flags tied to wording include promises of a visa or an employment outcome without clear contract terms. Some pages use “guarantee” in marketing copy; the page often lacks public contractual detail. Confirm provider terms before paying.
International TEFL Academy (ITA) — established TEFL provider
What they claim: “lifetime job search guidance” and marketing mentions “Guaranteed Job Placement Programs” for some countries.
Scope & duration: “lifetime job search guidance” is stated. The marketing copy lists a country set for guaranteed programs: Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia, Costa Rica.
What is included: page language points to job search guidance and separate “Guaranteed Job Placement Programs” as paid options for specific countries. The public marketing pages do not display full contractual conditions or refund rules.
Cost note: marketing references paid guaranteed programs. The page does not publish full pricing or contract terms on the marketing page. Write “not stated” where price/conditions are absent.
Practical note: suits candidates aiming for country‑specific placement programs where a paid guarantee is offered on ITA marketing pages. Verify the program contract and refund conditions directly with the provider.
EBC TEFL — global placement claim
What they claim: “lifetime, worldwide job placement” for graduates.
Scope & duration: described as worldwide and lifetime on the provider page.
What is included: the page states lifetime placement but does not detail contractual refund terms or placement guarantees beyond the wording on the page.
Cost note: the provider page does not state extra fees or the contractual conditions on the marketing page. Mark as “not stated”.
Practical note: may suit remote job seekers who value ongoing access to job resources. Confirm what “placement” entails in writing.
myTEFL — placement and internships
What they claim: “lifetime job placement assistance / supported pathways into paid teaching roles” and internship pathways.
Scope & duration: lifetime assistance phrasing is used. The page links internships and pathways.
What is included: the page lists job placement assistance and internships as supported pathways. Specific contract conditions or refund policies are not published on the marketing page.
Cost note: not stated on the provider page. Readers should ask about fees for any internship placement or additional support.
Practical note: useful for candidates who want structured internship pathways that can lead to paid roles. Confirm what “assistance” means in practice.
ICAL TEFL — job placement assistance
What they claim: “Job placement assistance” appears on product pages.
Scope & duration: not stated publicly on the referenced page.
What is included: the page mentions assistance but does not detail the components or contractual conditions.
Cost note: not stated.
Practical note: check whether assistance is lifetime and what specific services are provided before enrolling.
IQ TEFL — job placement resources
What they claim: every course includes access to job placement resources such as CV templates and partner school network.
Scope & duration: the page describes course access to resources but does not publicly state lifetime support or guaranteed placement.
What is included: CV templates and partner school network are explicitly mentioned on the provider page.
Cost note: not stated.
Practical note: suits candidates who want immediate, course‑linked resources for job applications. Verify ongoing access terms.
CIEE — contextual program support
What they claim: CIEE material provides contextual guidance on program support and placements in an educational context.
Scope & duration: contextual; the document is a workbook summarizing program support practices.
What is included: program‑level support descriptions; not a provider job‑placement offer per se.
Cost note: not stated.
Practical note: use as background on program support mechanisms. It does not replace checking provider terms.
How to assess a TEFL provider’s placement offer (checklist)
- Copy the provider phrase exactly. Does it say “guarantee”, “assistance” or “guidance”? Paste the quote.
- Is a written guarantee described with refund or conditions? If yes, request the contract and read the conditions.
- Is the scope explicit? Worldwide, country list or not stated? If country list is given, copy it.
- Is “lifetime” used? If yes, check for terms limiting that lifetime assistance.
- Does the provider list partner schools or an alumni job board? Ask for access proof.
- Look for independent user reports (forums, Reddit) as signals of experience, not definitive proof. [examples: Reddit threads cited]
- Ask whether placement services include visa support. Many pages do not mention visas—do not assume any visa outcome.
Which one for which user (verdicts by profile)
Beginner without classroom experience: favor providers that describe internships or practicum pathways. myTEFL mentions internships and supported pathways. Verify practicum terms.
Non‑native speakers: choose providers that list partner school networks and CV resources. IQ TEFL explicitly lists CV templates and partner network resources.
Candidate seeking in‑country placement in Asia: check country‑specific programs where marketing lists guaranteed programs. ITA’s marketing mentions Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia and Costa Rica for guaranteed programs. Request contract details before committing.
Candidate aiming for online teaching only: prefer providers that emphasize worldwide job boards and lifetime online support. EBC TEFL’s page uses “lifetime, worldwide job placement” language; confirm what “placement” means for remote roles.
Red flags & questions to ask before you pay
- Does the provider use the word “guarantee”? If yes, request written guarantee terms and refund policy.
- Which employers are listed as partners? Ask for examples and contactable references.
- Is placement assistance described as “lifetime”? If so, ask for the terms that define that lifetime support.
- Are there extra fees for guaranteed programs? If so, ask for a price schedule in writing.
- Does the provider claim visa support? If yes, clarify that visa issuance is a government decision and request written limits of any support.
- Can the provider show contract clauses that define placement, refund and timelines? If not, treat marketing claims cautiously.
What we could not establish (what is not stated publicly)
The following items were not found on the providers’ public pages and therefore are not presented as facts here:
- No publicly published verified placement rate (%) for any provider was found on the referenced pages.
- No provider page showed contractual text on marketing pages that fully details the conditions, refund rules or success rates for “guaranteed” programs.
- No provider page linked in the sources demonstrates that taking a TEFL certificate guarantees a visa for any country.
- Salary levels, contract durations and employment benefits tied to placements are not published on the referenced provider pages and are not included here.
- No public claim equating any TEFL certificate on these pages to CELTA / CertTESOL was established from an official regulator on the referenced pages.
Keep reading in this section
Get matched with a course or job that fits
Answer a few quick questions (goal, country, TEFL status) and we point you to a fit — using the same sourced country data as this page, checked 2026-09-27.
