What's in this guide
- How to read this guide
- Key documents & definitions
- TEFL, CELTA, CertTESOL: what counts for visas & employers
- Salaries & benefits — how to read official numbers
- Common red flags & how to avoid illegal work
- Step-by-step checklist before you sign a contract
- Official resources & where to apply (selected)
- What this guide does not state
This guide centralizes legal visa and work‑permit requirements for teaching English abroad and points to official sources checked on 27/09/2026. Visa, work‑permit and salary rules change often — confirm with the embassy or consulate (checked 27/09/2026).
How to read this guide
This page separates legal requirements from employer practices. Legal requirements are laws, decrees or official programme rules published by government or programme sites. Employer practice covers additional requests a school may impose; these are not law unless cited to an official source.
Salary figures are shown only when published by an authority and are dated. Where a public programme publishes a salary grid, the entry lists the currency, whether the figure is gross or net, and the date of the source. Private sector salaries are not published here unless an official source is cited.
All links and dates in country sections reference documents consulted on 27/09/2026. Before signing any contract, verify the current rule with the embassy, immigration authority or official programme contact listed in the relevant country subsection.
- Key documents & definitions
- International programmes & public schemes
- TEFL, CELTA, CertTESOL: what counts
- Salaries & benefits — how to read official numbers
- Common red flags & how to avoid illegal work
- Step-by-step checklist before you sign a contract
- Official resources & where to apply
- FAQ
Key documents & definitions
Visa, status of residence and work permit are distinct in many jurisdictions. A visa normally allows entry; a status of residence governs legal presence; a work permit specifically authorizes employment. Check the wording used by the immigration authority cited in each country section.
Relevant qualifications referenced on this page include CELTA and CertTESOL. CELTA is described on the Cambridge English site and the CELTA syllabus specifies a minimum of 120 contact hours including assessed teaching practice (sources consulted 27/09/2026). Trinity CertTESOL is listed at Level 5 on the Ofqual register per Trinity College London (source consulted 27/09/2026).
When an official programme cites education or experience as eligibility criteria, that is a legal or administrative requirement for the programme. Employers may add further conditions; those employer requirements are employer practice unless an authority states otherwise.
South Korea — E‑2 / EPIK
EPIK is a public scheme. The EPIK Salary & Benefits page was updated with a 2026.05.04 notice; consult that page for the published grid and benefit details (source consulted 27/09/2026). The typical visa used by foreign teachers is the E‑2; check EPIK and the Korean immigration authority for the exact status and process.
The published EPIK grid varies by province and by contract type. Where EPIK publishes a figure, it is presented with date and source only. Private institutions may have different pay scales; private pay is not summarized here without an official source.
Japan — JET Programme and other roles
The JET Programme lists eligibility on its official pages and maintains an FAQ covering applicant requirements (sources consulted 27/09/2026). JET requires a bachelor’s degree or equivalent teacher training as specified on its eligibility page.
Different roles in Japan (for example, assistant language teacher vs. other instructor types) may map to different visa categories. Follow the JET Programme pages for role definitions and eligibility details.
China — national and provincial rules
China’s requirements for foreign teachers include national rules supplemented by provincial implementation. Provincial guidance can allow waivers in specific cases. The Hunan provincial government documents consulted in this guide note a typical baseline of a bachelor’s degree and commonly two years’ teaching experience, with possible waivers for qualifications such as a degree in education, a national teaching certificate, or a TEFL/TESOL/CELTA certificate that is notarized or consularised (Hunan pages consulted 27/09/2026).
Always confirm at the provincial level where the hiring school is located, because provinces implement rules differently and update criteria independently of national notices.
Vietnam — Decree 219/2025
Vietnam’s Decree 219/2025/NĐ‑CP, effective 07/08/2025, governs foreign worker admission and lists conditions and exemptions relevant to teachers. The official decree and an English summary were consulted for this guide (sources consulted 27/09/2026). Follow the decree text and embassy guidance for procedural details and permit categories.
Spain — Auxiliares de conversación
The Auxiliares de conversación programme materials for 2026–2027 are published by Acción Educativa Exterior / MEFPD and include eligibility and application details (sources consulted 27/09/2026). Follow the official convocatoria and programme pages for dates, paperwork and contact points.
Hong Kong — NET scheme
For Hong Kong, refer to the Education Bureau NET scheme pages for eligibility and appointment conditions. The NET scheme is managed by the Education Bureau; use its official contacts to confirm visa and work permit steps for appointment.
UAE and Taiwan
For the UAE consult the respective licensing authorities referenced by employers (such as TLS/KHDA/ADEK) and for Taiwan consult official TFETP notes or the competent immigration authority. Use the listed programme or immigration contacts for up‑to‑date procedural requirements.
TEFL, CELTA, CertTESOL: what counts for visas & employers
CELTA is documented by Cambridge English with a course description and a syllabus confirming a minimum of 120 contact hours including assessed teaching practice (sources consulted 27/09/2026). Trinity CertTESOL is registered as Level 5 on Ofqual per Trinity College London (source consulted 27/09/2026).
Some authorities or provinces accept TEFL/TESOL/CELTA as waivers for experience requirements; Hunan provincial guidance provides an example where a TEFL/CELTA certificate may substitute for experience if notarized or consularised (source consulted 27/09/2026). Verify whether the authority you deal with requires notarization or consularisation of certificates.
Verify Level 5 registers and qualification status on the Ofqual register when required by an immigration authority. Where a programme specifies a Level 5 qualification, check the cited authority page for the accepted qualifications and the publication date.
Salaries & benefits — how to read official numbers
Only publish salary figures when an official source provides them. The EPIK Salary & Benefits page with a 2026.05.04 update is the example used in this guide; its grid is public and dated (source consulted 27/09/2026). When a programme publishes gross figures, the entry identifies the figure as gross and notes the source date.
Private sector salary figures (hagwons, eikaiwa, private language centres, Gulf schools) are not summarized here without an authoritative public source. Contract terms such as housing allowance, flight reimbursement or health insurance should be checked in the hiring contract and against the programme’s published benefits where applicable.
Common red flags & how to avoid illegal work
Working on a tourist visa is routinely flagged as illegal by immigration authorities. Seek explicit confirmation of the permitted activities on your visa category from the embassy or immigration contact before starting work.
Requests for upfront placement fees or deposits by a prospective employer are a common warning sign. Confirm payment terms in writing and verify that the employer is listed or acknowledged by the programme or local authority when applicable.
A refusal to provide a written contract or to state who will sponsor the work permit should be treated as a red flag. Official programme pages and embassy contacts can confirm whether a contract type and employer sponsorship meet legal requirements.
Step-by-step checklist before you sign a contract
Check the visa/work‑permit type with the embassy or immigration authority cited in the country section. Confirm which party sponsors or pays for the permit procedure.
Request the employment contract in writing and confirm salary as gross or net. Ask whether certificates must be notarized or consularised and obtain apostilles or notarizations where the authority requires them.
Confirm who covers accommodation and health insurance. Verify tax obligations with official tax or labour pages if those are referenced by the programme or employer.
Verify criminal record check requirements and the format accepted by the immigration authority. When a programme or authority lists an official checklist, use that list as the standard for required documents.
Official resources & where to apply (selected)
Use the programme and government URLs cited in the sources consulted on 27/09/2026. Examples include:
Follow those official pages for application forms, contact emails and embassy links relevant to each programme.
Do I always need a bachelor’s degree?
It depends on the country and the programme. For example, JET lists a bachelor’s degree in its eligibility criteria (JET pages consulted 27/09/2026). Chinese provincial rules commonly require a bachelor’s degree, with possible waivers under provincial guidance—check the provincial document referenced for details (Hunan pages consulted 27/09/2026).
Is a 120‑hour TEFL enough?
CELTA is specified as a minimum of 120 contact hours including assessed teaching practice by Cambridge English (source consulted 27/09/2026). Whether a 120‑hour TEFL suffices for visa or employer requirements varies by country and programme; consult the programme or immigration authority cited in the country section.
Can I teach online to Chinese K‑12 learners from abroad?
Regulatory constraints on cross‑border online teaching to Chinese K‑12 learners have been issued in recent years. For any question about online teaching to China, rely on the Chinese provincial and national guidance and confirm with the relevant authority before accepting a contract.
What this guide does not state
The following items were not verified for this page and are intentionally not stated here:
Corrections or updates may be requested by consulting the official links listed above and by notifying the page maintainers via the contact mechanism on the site’s related pages. Always confirm with the embassy or programme before committing to travel or signature of contract. Visa, work‑permit and salary rules change often — confirm with the embassy or consulate (checked 27/09/2026).
Keep reading in this section
Get matched with a course or job that fits
Answer a few quick questions (goal, country, TEFL status) and we point you to a fit — using the same sourced country data as this page, checked 2026-09-27.
