Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. TEFL & Certification
  3. Best online TEFL courses compared: CELTA vs CertTESOL
TEFL & Certification

Best online TEFL courses compared: CELTA vs CertTESOL

Comparative review of online and blended TEFL options (CELTA, CertTESOL).

Best online TEFL courses compared: CELTA vs CertTESOL
What's in this guide
  1. Comparison table — at-a-glance
  2. How we compared — methodology
  3. Table of exact questions to ask before you pay
  4. What we do not know
  5. Sources & last checked

This comparative review lists several online TEFL options, compares them on identical criteria and explains which fits which profile. Key checks were accreditation (Ofqual, ACCET), format, and whether assessed observed teaching practice is included; sources were checked on 27/09/2026.

Comparison table — at-a-glance

Cambridge Assessment English

Course nameCELTA (online / blended options)
FormatBlended / online via authorised centres
Includes observed teaching practice?Yes
Ofqual Level / accreditationOfqual Level 5
Minimum hours (GLH / TQT)Not specified
Target audienceBeginners to those seeking recognised Level 5 qualification
Sourcecambridgeenglish.org (consulted 27/09/2026); cambridgeenglish.org (consulted 27/09/2026)

Trinity College London

Course nameCertTESOL (blended/online options)
FormatBlended / online options via centres
Includes observed teaching practice?Yes (teaching practice included)
Ofqual Level / accreditationOfqual Level 5
Minimum hours (GLH / TQT)At least 130 hours guided; 200 hours TQT
Target audienceThose seeking a Level 5 regulated qualification
Sourcetrinitycollege.com (consulted 27/09/2026); trinitycollege.com (consulted 27/09/2026)

How we compared — methodology

The same criteria were applied to each provider listed above. We checked format (fully online, blended, live sessions), whether assessed observed teaching practice is part of the programme, stated accreditation or regulatory status (Ofqual, ACCET), and any published guided learning hours or Total Qualification Time (TQT). For each factual claim we used the official provider page or regulator documentation and recorded the consultation date as 27/09/2026.

The comparison does not rank providers by a single winner. Instead, the goal is to describe which option suits which user profile. Where a data point was not present on an official page we marked it as not specified and included it in the section “What we do not know”.

We explicitly noted the regulatory status when present. Cambridge CELTA and Trinity CertTESOL are both listed at Ofqual Level 5 according to the provider pages and regulator documentation checked on 27/09/2026. For other commercial providers, an Ofqual listing or equivalent accreditation must be shown on the provider page to be recorded as such.

Warning about certificate value: the practical value of any TEFL/CertTESOL/CELTA certificate varies by employer and country. Candidates should verify employer or programme acceptance directly before paying for a course.

CELTA — Cambridge Assessment English (online / mixed mode)

Formatblended or online delivery via authorised centres; components of assessed teaching practice are required by Cambridge. Source: Cambridge CELTA pages (consulted 27/09/2026).
AccreditationListed by Cambridge as Ofqual Level 5. Source: Cambridge support & CELTA pages (consulted 27/09/2026).
Hoursnot specified on the summary pages used for this review. Marked as not specified where exact GLH/TQT were absent.
Pricenot recorded here (—) because no dated price source was included in the sources we checked.

Detailed description: CELTA is a Cambridge Assessment English qualification delivered through authorised centres. Cambridge states that courses offered online or in blended formats still include observed teaching practice and assessed components; centres approved to deliver CELTA online structure that practice into the course according to Cambridge requirements. Before enrolling, confirm with the centre exactly how observed teaching practice is scheduled and assessed when the course is delivered partially or fully online.

Who it suits:

Applicants seeking an Ofqual Level 5 qualification with assessed teaching practice.
People aiming for roles where employers explicitly ask for CELTA-level certification.

Caveats / red flags:

  • Watch for wording such as “CELTA-equivalent” on third-party sites — only Cambridge-authorised CELTA centres can award the CELTA certificate.
  • Confirm whether observed teaching practice uses real learners or simulated/peer teaching in the online setup, and how assessment feedback is delivered.

Sources:

  • cambridgeenglish.org (consulted 27/09/2026)
  • cambridgeenglish.org (consulted 27/09/2026)
  • support.cambridgeenglish.org (consulted 27/09/2026)

CertTESOL — Trinity College London (blended/online options)

Formatcentres offer blended or online options; teaching practice and assessment are part of the qualification. Source: Trinity CertTESOL pages (consulted 27/09/2026).
AccreditationTrinity lists CertTESOL at Ofqual Level 5. Source: Trinity pages (consulted 27/09/2026).
HoursTrinity states a minimum of 130 hours guided learning and 200 hours TQT. Source: Trinity resources (consulted 27/09/2026).
Price—.

Detailed description: Trinity CertTESOL is a Level 5 qualification with explicit guided learning hours and TQT figures given in Trinity documentation. Centres that offer blended or online delivery still include teaching practice as an assessed element; check the provider page for how those hours are arranged online and how assessment meetings or observed lessons are scheduled.

Who it suits:

  • Learners who want a documented GLH and TQT figure for a regulated qualification.
  • Those who need a qualification with clear stated guided hours and regulator alignment.

Caveats / red flags:

  • Confirm on the centre page whether observed practice occurs with real learners or with peers, and how assessors note the practice in the online/hybrid setup.

Sources:

  • trinitycollege.com (consulted 27/09/2026)
  • trinitycollege.com (consulted 27/09/2026)

Table of exact questions to ask before you pay

  • How is observed teaching practice delivered in this online/blended course? How many assessed observed teaching hours are included and are assessors internal or external?
  • Is the course delivered by an authorised centre for the named qualification (e.g., Cambridge CELTA centre) or is it a different certificate claiming equivalence?
  • What is the stated accreditation or regulator listing (Ofqual reference or accreditor name)? Please provide the link or accreditation number.
  • What are the guided learning hours (GLH) or Total Qualification Time (TQT) for this specific course offering? Is that documented on the provider page?
  • What is the refund, cancellation and guarantee policy, and where is it published?
  • Does the provider claim any job placement or visa support? If so, request full written details and supporting evidence from the provider; treat such claims with caution.

Beginner aiming to teach abroad

Prefer a Level 5 regulated qualification with assessed observed teaching practice (e.g., CELTA, CertTESOL) where employers explicitly request such credentials.
Check with target employers or programmes in the destination country whether they accept the online/blended form of the Level 5 certificate before paying.

Short upskill for online tutoring or informal work

Shorter market TEFL courses can suit casual online tutoring, but confirm whether employers require observed teaching practice or a Level 5 regulator listing.
Ask how much observed practice and practical feedback the course provides; practical teaching experience matters for hiring.

Career changer aiming for formal school recruitment

State and school recruiters often prefer Level 5 qualifications and documented assessed teaching practice. Verify specific employer requirements.
Where possible, choose a course delivered by an authorised centre with clear regulator listing.

Budget learner

  • Lower-cost, short-duration courses may reduce cost but often limit assessed practice and regulator status; verify what is included and beware claims of equivalence.
  • Ask for exact GLH/TQT and observed teaching practice details before committing.

What we do not know

The following items were not established from the official sources consulted and are therefore not claimed in this review:

Which employers in which countries accept a specific online delivery of a Level 5 qualification as equivalent to an in-centre version — acceptance varies employer-by-employer and was not mapped here.
Price ranges for market-wide TEFL options — no general market price range was included because prices must be cited per provider with a dated source.
Any guarantee of employment or visa issuance tied to a specific course — no course guarantees jobs or visas in the sources used.
That all Level 5 qualifications are interchangeable in employer practice — interchangeability depends on employer and country and cannot be asserted without employer-level evidence.
Exact hours of assessed teaching practice for providers where the centre page did not specify them — recorded as not specified and flagged for verification with the centre.

If you plan to rely on a course for visa or formal employment purposes, check acceptance directly with the employer, programme or embassy before you pay. For any provider listed here, confirm on the provider’s official page the exact arrangements for observed teaching practice, regulator references and any dated price or refund terms.

Keep reading in this section

Priya Nakamura

TEFL trainer & course assessor — accreditation and course quality

Priya has trained new TEFL candidates and assessed teaching practice for in-person and online courses for over eight years. She specialises in the unglamorous part of choosing a course: hours, observed practice, and who…

Get matched with a course or job that fits

Answer a few quick questions (goal, country, TEFL status) and we point you to a fit — using the same sourced country data as this page, checked 2026-09-27.

TEFL trainee practising a lesson in a training room
Before you go

Not sure which TEFL course is worth the money?

  • Compare accredited 120h+ courses, not marketing pages
  • See which countries actually require it — and which don't
  • Get matched with a course that fits your budget and timeline